Over the past few weeks, there has been some controversy and discussion about gimme putts.
Until now, gimme putts are allowed if putt length is within the leather grip.
On Monday after the game, we had a discussion about gimme putts. We have examined some proposals for a new rule.
After discussion we decide to adopt a new rule for gimme.
All putts for a score counting on the card must be holed.
If a putt could possibly count for a skins or improve team score, it must be done.
We are all aware that we are team-mates in the foursome, but the honesty and fairness for all must prevail.
It is useful to remember that in the PGA and RCGA rules, there is no gimme.
We are not the only group having discussion over gimme. Take a look at this article from PGA website.
January 8, 2024


