Skip to content

First Annual Men’s League Memorial Golf Event Follow Up – Wednesday, January 17th, 2024

Hola El Tigre Golfers,

Our First Annual Men’s League Memorial golf tournament will take place on January 17th, 2023. The starting time will be at 8:45 am (with pre-golf announcements beginning at 8:35 am). Please plan your arrival and practice session accordingly.

Game Format: This will be a four-person team event where all teams will play a scramble format on holes 1 – 9 and a two ball best ball format on holes 10 – 18. All players will play from the normal set of tees that they normally play from and during the front nine scramble format, all teams must use a minimum of two drives per player. Maximum handicap will be 36 per player. The winning team will be determined by the combined lowest scores of the two formats. All members of the winning team will receive special memorial trophies, in addition to the normal monetary payouts.

Memorial Event Agenda:

  • Shot gun start for all players/teams at 8:45 AM,
  • After golf all participants gather in El Tigre restaurant dining area for lunch,
  • Memorial dedication session will be held after lunch followed by,
  • Prizes, awards and payouts to winning teams and players

Memorial recognition and post-golf luncheon activities: The memorial event is in honor and recognition of our fellow Men’s League members that are no longer with us, including Wayne Gibson, Bob Tormey, Derek Peper and Jack Kirkpatrick. During our memorial dedication session after lunch, we will pay tribute to Wayne, Bob, Derek and Jack. We will begin this section by unveiling a special plaque to honor our deceased comrades and we will also hear from a number of members who will speak in honor of their deceased friends.

Costs Per Player will be $600 pesos: The cost covers the normal $100 entry fee, lunch selection option including either French dip, cheeseburger, or hamburger (all options include French fries), $70 peso beverage credit for lunch, costs of memorial plaque, individual trophies for all winning team members and other minor incidental costs. When you arrive next Wednesday, please see either Wayne Stillwell or Jack Gindi (money collectors) and pay them the $600 pesos. When you pay them your entry fee you will also be asked which luncheon choice you would like to have.

Good luck to all players!


Men’s League Memorial golf committee (Markus Gmelin, Steve Johnson, Don Marshall and Alan Bayliss)

© 2016 El Tigre Leagues